Spyderco filet knife?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
jmj3esq

Spyderco filet knife?

Post by jmj3esq »

Has the topic of a Spyderco filet knife ever been discussed? I use one quite often and would love a filet knife in my favorite brand.
Coastal

Re: Spyderco filet knife?

Post by Coastal »

Off and on. I think the consensus is that it's too easy to find excellent filet knives a lot cheaper than Spyderco could sell theirs for. I'm with you, though. I'd buy one.
aicolainen

Post by aicolainen »

Reoccurring topic for sure.
This is the last one that comes to mind:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=94002
Coastal

Post by Coastal »

The Phil Wilson collab mentioned in the above thread is the type thing that would get me on board. I've been using Rapala for over 50 years because they're practically free and I've never felt the need for anything better. Want, yes, like a Phil Wilson, but not need! If I caught larger and/or more fish, I would probably feel differently, but unfortunately I haven't had that good fortune.

I did buy the Dexter knife demonstrated above, but haven't used it yet.
Mushroom

Post by Mushroom »

I wonder how well a Spyder Edge Pointed Z Cut would function as a fillet knife? Makes me wish that variant wasn’t discontinued.
- Nick :bug-red
Deadboxhero

Post by Deadboxhero »

It would be really nice to get another Spyderco Phil Wilson, a fillet knife with more edge retention with a premium steel would be amazing.
Big Brown Bear
https://www.youtube.com/user/shawnhouston
Triple B Handmade Knives
skeeg11

Post by skeeg11 »

Would be my most cherished knife if it came to pass, but so far I'm turning blue in the face from pleading. Time for BBB to pick up the torch. :winking-tongue
Deadboxhero

Post by Deadboxhero »

skeeg11 wrote:
Mon Mar 13, 2023 6:10 am
Would be my most cherished knife if it came to pass, but so far I'm turning blue in the face from pleading. Time for BBB to pick up the torch. :winking-tongue