Software Engineers

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
ASmitty

Software Engineers

Post by ASmitty »

I write software for a living (and for fun at home sometimes too). I currently work for an online only bank. We have zero physical bank branches. Our US-based software development team works in in Microsoft and .NET for our development. Most of our work is web-based using ASP.NET MVC and WCF web services. We also have some back end processes that utilize console applications.

At home, for my personal development projects, I am using Ruby and Rails. I'm still quite new to these two but I am quickly gaining a strong appreciation for them.

I know there are a few other software developers here, and I was just looking to stir up some discussion about what programming languages and technologies some of you are working in. I've been writing code professionally for about 3.5 years at this point and I've never been happier with what I do for a living.
"A flute with no holes is not a flute. A donut with no hole, is a danish."

Quietly lurking the Spyderco forum since 2003...
The Deacon

Post by The Deacon »

Retired now, but wrote code and did systems analysis for the last 15 years of my work life. Started out working in COBOL and DB2 SQL on a dumb terminal hooked to an IBM mainframe, later worked primarily with Oracle tools, creating Oracle databases with Designer and the front end tools to access them with Forms Developer and Report Builder on a PC platform. Toward the end I did a bit of Java programming as well.
Paul
My Personal Website ---- Beginners Guide to Spyderco Collecting ---- Spydiewiki
Deplorable :p
WTC # 1458 - 1504 - 1508 - Never Forget, Never Forgive!
rodloos

Post by rodloos »

I'm not technically a software engineer, since I don't have a B.S. nor an Engineering License, but I've been programming full-time for around 24 years. Bought my first computer in 1979. Paid extra money to double the memory to 8KB!