Gent's folder with blade length slightly less than 2.5 inches

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
ejcr98

Gent's folder with blade length slightly less than 2.5 inches

Post by ejcr98 »

Hi. I am new to the forum. Spyderco is my favorite pocket knife brand.

I am an attorney and want a gentleman's folder with a blade length less than 2.5 inches but as close to 2.5 inches as possible, so that I can legally take into federal facilities when I visit them for work. I would prefer CF scales and a compression lock (like a shrunken Sage 5 or sprint run of the older CF/S30V version of the Cat but with a compression lock)

Any suggestions? Anything like that on Spyderco's upcoming models?

Thanks,
The Deacon

Re: Gent's folder with blade length slightly less than 2.5 inches

Post by The Deacon »

I'd suggest keeping an eye out on eBay and forums where sales are allowed for an original (locking) Kiwi, either the all stainless version, or one of the four bolstered versions. I know they're not compression locks, but there is a CF version. Blade length is 2.375" and they're closer to what I'd call a true "gentleman's folder" as anything Spyderco has made before or since.
Paul
My Personal Website ---- Beginners Guide to Spyderco Collecting ---- Spydiewiki
Deplorable :p
WTC # 1458 - 1504 - 1508 - Never Forget, Never Forgive!
hoimin

Post by hoimin »

I don't think there is anything fitting all of those requirements. Which requirements would you be willing to back off on? Compression lock is a limited factor at this point.

The closest I can think of are:
Lil' Lum: 2.38", but not CF, not a comp lock, and not out yet.
Leafstorm: 2.44", but not CF, and framelock
Salsa: Comp lock, 2.45", but not CF and discontinued
Gayle Bradley Air: CF, but 2.55" Ti liner lock
Spin (sprint): Nishijin CF, 1.86", but framelock

Many other options if you con't care about CF and comp lock, such as the Dragonfly II

EDIT: Also the upcoming Vrango! 2.5", CF inlays on Ti scales, liner lock.