Thread: Knife lubrication

Spyderco Forum Registered User jackknifeh's Avatar

Knife lubrication

I just replied to a thread concerning cleaning folding knives. Starting a thread on lubrication came to my mind so here goes. This may have already been addressed, I don't know.

Any experience with different oils or lubrications anyone has used would be helpful. Here is mine:

Used WD-40 and 3-in-one lubes all my life because that is what Dad used. I have never been disappointed with either. After becoming an adult I found out about oils with teflon. Teflon oils have saved my butt a few times when trying to break things apart when other oils failed.

Now there are products that claim additional things. I'm going to name three that I have tried. I've been using them for less than three years so I can't say anything about them as far as long term use but they do have their list of happy customers with opinions on their web sites. They can be purchased on other sites at a lower price than they advertise just like Spyderco knives and most other products.

1. Tuf-Glide and Tuf-cloth by Sentry Solutions (www.sentrysolutions.com). They also have other products designed for guns and other machinery. They claim their oil (which is not really oil) after applied as a liquid dries fast and leaves a protective bond on the steel that can't be wiped off. I've been using this stuff for about 2 years and have been happy with it. They also have stuff for guns and other things.

2. Quick Release. Pretty close to the Tuf-Glide in the advertising. Check them out at www.quickreleaseoil.com. Only used this for a couple of months. I tried it because they have testimonials like how someone had a knife that just would not open right and he had tried everything. He used Quick Release and the knife is now perfect. Obviously I took his word for it.