Experienced Serrated Edge K390 users wanted.

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
JSumm

Experienced Serrated Edge K390 users wanted.

Post by JSumm »

So I have very little experience with serrated edge. I have been using it since last summer with one in my back pocket almost everyday. Most of my VG-10 SE is in a Wharncliffe blade, which is why I'm asking the question.

Both models in K390 SE (Delica & Endela) have loss the tips of teeth in the same place. Maybe two serration patterns back from the tip. Most likely from cutting down on a flat surface. Could have been from a countertop or cutting board. I'm not exactly sure. My VG-10 Wharncliffes don't see the same angle in cutting obviously, so I don't have anything to compare against except H2 in a Salt 2. That one has held up fine including digging up weeds in the ground.

So just curious what others have seen from a durability standpoint on serrated edged K390 as far as the teeth or at least the tips of them. I want to grab some VG-10 with belly so I have something to compare against. Starting to think sticking to H2, LC200N, or VG-10 may be better than K390.

This is the Delica. The Endela had two teeth in the same spot that just bent over.

******Edited 4/8/24 2:21pm - This is after a week or two with the knife. Initially used CBN Rods to begin reprofiling and only used Brown/White rods to hit the actual edge.*******
Last edited by JSumm on Mon Apr 08, 2024 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Jeff
May your feet be warm and dry and your throat warm with whiskey. A knife in hand or in the sock band.
MNOSD Member #0005
Bill1170

Re: Experienced Serrated Edge K390 users wanted.

Post by Bill1170 »

My K390 Endura was reprofiled on the 15 dps Sharpmaker setting and has taken no such damage. Maybe I’m just more careful?

It could also be that reprofiling got me past the weaker steel affected by heat during the grinding of the serrations. K390 seems to be very tough for a steel of its wear resistance.
Giygas