Spyderco matriarch 2 or Harpy ( for a women with little hands)

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
TouchMyBreil

Spyderco matriarch 2 or Harpy ( for a women with little hands)

Post by TouchMyBreil »

Hello, i come to this forum to search some good advices.
I'm a woman and not have big hands :-D
I have no experience with knives too.
But i have just seen these Spyderco models and i felt in love with them at the first time!
I'd like to buy one ( one for now, but in the future...who can say), but i can't decide which.
I will keep it in my home, but if i need to go to dangerous places ( for exemple train stations at night) i'll probably bring it with me. So, for you, which of this one is the best, for "my use"? And why?
Thank you very much
Michael Janich

Re: Spyderco matriarch 2 or Harpy ( for a women with little hands)

Post by Michael Janich »

Dear TouchMyBreil:

Welcome to the Spyderco Forum.

If you have no experience with knives, I would not recommend carrying one for self-defense. Get some training first.

Stay safe,

Mike
RustyIron

Post by RustyIron »

^^^Wiser words were never said.
Coastal

Post by Coastal »

For self defense, I defer to those with self-defense experience.

But as one with a lot of gardening experience, I can recommend the Matriarch 2 without reservation.
Jim Malone

Post by Jim Malone »

The harpy is not very suited for self defense due to its hawkbill blade. The Matriarch is designed as a slashing weapon. But the yojimbo is a better alround knife.
I would recommend Filipino Martial Arts to start using a knife in a defensive matter of get lessons in modern knife fighting ( Janich, Southnarc, etc) if you live in the USA.
Tristan_david2001

Post by Tristan_david2001 »

The spyderco wharncliffe swick if you don’t mind a fixed blade. Objectively fixed blades are faster and more reliable if you’re looking at carrying a knife from a purely tactical standpoint. I would suggest the ronin 2 but it seems a little big for edc.
:bug-red-white