Just bought a KME sharpener and I have questions...

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
jmj3esq

Just bought a KME sharpener and I have questions...

Post by jmj3esq »

I am through pulling my hair out trying to get that perfect edge with freehand sharpening. I can get sharp, but not scary sharp. I want scary sharp, so I decided to purchase a KME with the diamond stones. I quickly put it to use with great results. I sharpened my knife at 17 degrees and then put a 20 degree micro bevel on it. When putting on a micro bevel freehand it relatively easy to "blend" the shoulders into an apple seed profile. I noticed with the KME that there is a clear line where the micro bevel begins towards the end of the edge. Is this standard with the KME? What is required to reduce this shoulder or is it something we just have to live with? Also, are there any accessories that I absolutely need? A stone of about 2500 or 3000 mic would be nice. I'm totally new to this thing so any advice would be helpful.
bobnikon

Re: Just bought a KME sharpener and I have questions...

Post by bobnikon »

The fixed angle systems are specifically that, fixed angle. You set the angle and then sharpen to that angle. The Appleseed or convex edge is easiest with a belt system or freehand. The precision of the fixed angle system is the selling point, but it will produce those clear transitions between different angles. You can certainly do a few finishing strokes freehand if you want to blend the shoulder.
Henry - get both

Post by Henry - get both »

That appearance is normal with a precise micro bevel.