Low End Spyderco Knives

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
NASA50

Low End Spyderco Knives

Post by NASA50 »

This topic has probably been discussed before, but I am new to the Spyderco Forum and wish to vent ....

I am disappointed every time I look and see a Spyderco knife made in China or Taiwan.

I guess I understand that not everyone can afford a Spyderco made in USA or Japan ... and that is why Spyderco chooses to cater to the low end budget buyer ...

But, if they think it is a prudent business decision to do so ... I wish that Spyderco would produce these low end knives under a different name ... becuase to me, these Chinese low end knives "taint" the reputation of quality that Spyderco is known for ... simply ... the chinese low end knives bring down the image of the rest of the line ...

That is just my two (2) cents ....

Please keep the manufacturing origin of all Spyderco knives in the USA and Japan ... and leave the Chinese knives to someone else ...
sal

Re: Low End Spyderco Knives

Post by sal »

Hi NASA,

Welcome to our forum. Sorry your first post made you feel like you want to vent? that's OK. This is a somewhat unusual forum in that the group that hangs here keeps in friendly.

Let me offer some thoughts to share. The manufacturing costs of US, Japan, Italy and Taiwan made models keeps rising. Many of our customers felt that we were exceeding the average working man's budget to get a good knife. The Chinese Yuan is 6/1 to the US dollar which is very difficult to compete against.