Sage 5 issues

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
sageadvice

Sage 5 issues

Post by sageadvice »

Hi guys, I'm new to Spyderco knives and new to the board. This looks like a great community and I'm excited to join!

The Sage 5 is my first Spyderco, and I love it, but I've run into a few issues that leave me wanting to modify it. I'm wondering if others face similar problems, and if perhaps future versions could be CQI'd.

1. No detent ball ramp. I understand the Para 2 has one, and the lack of it creates a noticeable "curb stop" when closing this knife. Is there a reason this was omitted on the Sage 5? The issue may be exacerbated on my particular knife, because...

2. Stiff lock spring. I really have to crank on it to get the blade to swing as freely as the pivot allows; if I don't push hard enough to clear the detent ball, it drags along the blade and slows things down significantly. Pushing hard enough to clear it actually hurts the tip of my index finger because the cut-out isn't very deep, so the force is concentrated on a relatively small area of my fingertip. I find it much more comfortable to unlock with my left hand, because my thumb fills the cut-out and the force on it is spread out more. When closing with my right hand, I push my index finger all the way into the cut-out to get more purchase, which makes it hurt less, but then...