Quintessential Small Spydie?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Fanch_Man

Quintessential Small Spydie?

Post by Fanch_Man »

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum, and I sincerely feel way out of my league posting amongst such dedicated fans. I've been enjoying reading and studying what many of you have to say for some time, and it feels like several of you are already acquaintances. I hope it's okay to say, but this really is the best knife community I've come across online. I hope I can contribute somewhat.

Anyhow, enough gushing! I'm pretty new to knife collecting (just over a year), but like everyone else here, I've come to really appreciate Spyderco's designs. I currently have a Bradley Air and a carbon fiber Kopa, and they are perfect. I know this is borderline sacrilege, but I'm really wanting to limit my collection to 5 Spydies that I REALLY love to both fondle AND use. Both the Air and the Kopa fill that niche beautifully. I've had a Caly 3 ZDP and a Chap 2, but as wonderful as those knives were, they just never gelled with me.

SO, to the question: what Spydie folders should I get to round out my "collection?" What knives do you think represent Spyderco form and function the best? My preferences are for smaller knives, 3.25" up to maybe 4.25" handle length. I think the Mantra (which I'm really wanting to check out) is as big as I'd consider. I'm hoping the Para 3/Para Mini comes inside that range. I'm currently considering Native 5 Ti, Chap 1, Dragonfly G-10, Mantra, Positron, Dice, Mini Persian, and CF Kiwi. Are there others that would be a better fit? Consider price and production status to be no object.

I'm sorry if that was too long, and thank you all!
Surfingringo

Re: Quintessential Small Spydie?

Post by Surfingringo »

Dragonfly 2 and Delica both deserve some serious consideration. I would consider them both to be "iconic" status Spydies.
xceptnl

Post by xceptnl »