Whats the deal with Benchmade

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
dgulbra

Whats the deal with Benchmade

Post by dgulbra »

I am fairly new to the knife world (about 6 months) and am confused. I tend to do a lot of research before I spend my hard earned money on a new blade. I have a local knife store that I go to to ogle and fondle blades. 95% of my knives are Spydercos because they always turn out to be the best. I just can believe how much benchmade charges for there knives and their product is by no means superior. Sometimes they use blade steels that no one has heard of and personally i think their blades are heavy. When they do use steels like S30 V or 154CM they charge double what an equivalent Spyderco. Whats the deal? Am I Just a newb or what. Please explain.
SQSAR

Post by SQSAR »

I respect Benchmade a lot. Up until a few years ago when I had a chance encounter with a 'Spyderco staff member' at the SFO I would have considered both Spyderco and Benchmade on par with one another for both quality and design (both good, just different). ****, maybe I still do in some regards. However, since that day back in 2007, I've come to know that there is a quality behind the scenes at Spyderco, a less tangible quality that resides in the way Spyderco does business and treats it's customers. For me, it was that day that I decided that any commercially available knife I would ever buy from then on, , would be a Spyderco.