Pro Venator or Spur

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
tpro68

Pro Venator or Spur

Post by tpro68 »

I bought a knife on ebay that came in a Spur box, but looks like a Pro Venator with Carbon Fiber inserts and plain clip. I am new to Spydercos and am afraid I have been a bit gung-ho on ebay. These are the tightest knives I've used. I've got a used Spur and it is shorter and has a thinner blade than the Pro Venator. The carbon fiber "Spur" measures 3 7/8 closed. The blade is 2 7/8 and is 1/8 thick. The blade is G-2 Stainless. Is there any way to be sure of what I have? Thanks. Pro
The CoPilot

Post by The CoPilot »

I watched that one go by on eBay. It's definitely a C13 Pro Grip II (aka Pro Venator) but the carbon fiber handle inserts are an aftermarket modification that someone made to the knife (probably to replace a worn Kraton insert). That knife would have originally come from Spyderco with stainless steel handles (one with a black Kraton inlay) and black Kraton on the pocket clip. There's nothing wrong with being a bit "gung-ho", but it always pays to do a little research to make sure that you know what you are buying. The Pro Grip II (and the C32 Spur too, for that matter) is a great knife. I've had one for years and have used it often for hunting. Built like a tank.

(Image credit to Spyderco)

Here's a great image (courtesy of my friend Paul Beretta) where you can see the Pro Grip II and the Spur in the same image. The Pro Grip II is the third knife down from the top. The C04 Spur is the second knife from the bottom. It's a direct descendant of the C04 Executive right below it (note the handle shapes):

><> The most important blood trail leads to the Cross <><
C09 CoPilots My Specialty
Integrity is Being Good Even if No One is WatchingTM
Looking for: C04 Executive plain edge, C09 CoPilot plain edge with brass liners and a G-2 marked blade
tpro68

Thanks.

Post by tpro68 »