New knife, uneven grind

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
neuronic

New knife, uneven grind

Post by neuronic »

Hi,

my Manix 2 XL is my first Spyderco (had to return the first one I got due to some flaws, got one back that was better so I kept it) but I like it quite a bit so far and it might be not my last...

The thing is it has an uneven blade grind, the edge bevel coming to the tip is like 30% wider on the one side compared to the other, it's quite noticable looking from the side as well as looking down onto the blade.
It might be more obvious to the eye because it's a DLC coated blade and it doesn't affect the knife's function but still...

I'm still pretty new to this whole folding knives thing, haven't handled many, but since I'm quite "OCD" when it comes to symmetry, fit and finish I'm wondering how comon this is on mid to highend range production kives and especially on Spydercos...

Let me know your thoughts.
Thank you.
attila

Re: New knife, uneven grind

Post by attila »

You're not the only one to care about uneven grinds. All 5 PM2s and 3 Militaries I've had (all produced after 2016; idk if that matters) had a nice and even edge grind on the show side, but on the clip side from the tip to the belly, there is a section of over-ground, and therefore wider, edge bevel.

I keep the factory edge of my knives until dull from use, as oppposed to automatically resetting every bevel I get, and I remove minimal material when resharpening. Thus, the consistently uneven grind on that one section of each blade will be an irritation until after numerous sharpenings.

I guess what I'm saying is that I prefer well ground edges, and if they can properly grind one side, then there is absolutely no reason to mess up the other side so consistently. While it'll irritate me every time I look at the clip side of the blade, the good thing is that it won't actually have a noticeable affect on performance.