Just one problem with wire clips

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
zhyla

Just one problem with wire clips

Post by zhyla »

Put my Chap LW in my pocket this morning and found it missing while I was driving to work. Tried to find it all night. Finally made a 2nd pass outdoors, turns out it snagged on some netting around my guava tree this morning while I was picking guavas and hung out there all day. Phew! Thought I lost that one.

Sharp Guy

Re: Just one problem with wire clips

Post by Sharp Guy »

Glad you found it.

I haven't had one try to abandon me yet but I've had a few near misses.
Of all the things I've lost I miss my mind the most!
Bdubs808

Post by Bdubs808 »

The clip on the Chaparral LW has been problematic for me. I work in a restaurant and there are a lot of stainless steel tables, corners, edges, surfaces etc. that a pocket clip can get caught on in the tight work areas. So one day the wire clip of my Chaparral got caught on something and actually tore up the FRN to the point where I can't mount the clip back on; but it's okay, I carry it clipless just fine because it's so thin.
SG89

Post by SG89 »

Glad you found it! That Chap really wanted some guava lol
Spydergirl88
3 Nats, 1 Chap, 1 Sham, 1 Urb
zhyla

Post by zhyla »

Bdubs808 wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:54 pm
The clip on the Chaparral LW has been problematic for me. I work in a restaurant and there are a lot of stainless steel tables, corners, edges, surfaces etc. that a pocket clip can get caught on in the tight work areas. So one day the wire clip of my Chaparral got caught on something and actually tore up the FRN to the point where I can't mount the clip back on; but it's okay, I carry it clipless just fine because it's so thin.
I don’t consider the wire clip to be super practical. It looks and feels nice. But I would never take one into an adventurous setting. They just don’t hang onto the pocket very tightly. Maybe with G-10 they do.