Please help a British Bobby find his knife!

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Gump12

Please help a British Bobby find his knife!

Post by Gump12 »

Ladies and gents!

Firstly I would like to apologise if this is in the wrong section, I am brand new to the community and thought this would be the correct place!

I am no knife expert or amateur, in fact this will be my first ever knife purchase!

I am a British police officer and am looking for a knife for work. I understand that with my job I can lawfully carry a locking knife, but I want something that conforms to the standard uk carry laws! So non locking folding, with cutting edge less than 7.62cm.

So naturally I’ve been looking at the ukpk and the ukpk in s110. Again I am completely knew and on doing research the s110 is better steel. But I prefer the black handle!

Without sounding morbid, this knife will be mainly used to cut down certain things in an emergency that in past experience the rope is too thick for my seat belt cutter.

So I thought serated would be ideal and I know one of the knifes you guys sell are 50/50 but it locks so it’s out of the question.

My budget is around £150

I’ve been looking for ages, but I thought someone on here may have an idea of something I’ve missed!

Thanks in advance

Josh
Uke

Re: Please help a British Bobby find his knife!

Post by Uke »

Hi mate and welcome! When I used to work security back in the UK I carried the old orange G10 UKPK Rescue with serrated sheepsfoot S30V blade. A fantastic UK legal knife (with the added benefit at work of being a sheepsfoot) - I thrashed it (verging on abuse involving a cable bike lock!) and that blade will go through the things you needed it to. Unfortunately they are discontinued now but I'd honestly recommend trying to find one second hand, especially with the limited UK legal options over there. Spyderco also did an FRN version of the Rescue too which you might have better luck tracking down.
ChrisinHove