Grindability

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Robishere

Grindability

Post by Robishere »

After 30 years of owning so called legendary names like “buck” etc and chasing names I graduated to chasing models and brands and then to chasing steels. I had to have the latest.
I chased vg-10 and s30v and others always believing the hype of a knife that would cut forever with 4 brushes on ceramic and it is good to go again.
Well, thus far my findings are that I adore 2 steels.
Maxamet
S35vn
My maxamet native and para 2 and 3 will easily make a burr and take it off. They stick to the skin or electrical tape or plastic and peel better than any razor.
My s35vn takes a sticky sharp edge but foes not snap tips or break 3/8” chips out like s30v does.
Both Maxamet and s35vn sharpen easily. Hence the grindability that I used to scoff at. I had 3 soyderco knives in s110v and s90v that I threw the blades out and kept the scales and screws. Great for use on a cutting board or as a hacksaw but junk to slice paper or rubber or plastic unsupported. They would work pushing down on something solid but could they snip a shoelace or open a letter without shredding the edge? No.
Hours and hours with dmt stones and ceramic and a sharpmaker and I got a half assed edge like a hacksaw.
S35vn and maxamet.... a few swipes and they burr ever so nicely and do not chip inless used as a prybar.
I am less enchanted with the so called “edge retention “ now than I am with “grindability” as I can take a simple carry stone if I am out for weeks with maxamet or s35vn and tough it up. Can the same be said with s110v? No.
Nobody seems to want the legendary sunholyv any more. Unless you have power wherever you are.
I hope the Maxamet and s35vn come stronger.
The funny thing is..... Maxamet is now rare and the s35vn para whatever is a sprint and the native is being phased out.