Thread: Old Collector, New to Spyderco

Spyderco Forum Registered User morgaj1's Avatar

Old Collector, New to Spyderco

I have been collecting knives since I was 5-6 years old. However, up until about 6 months ago, I had never purchased a Spyderco knife. I used to buy knives based on they way they looked and how they fit my hand. I knew nothing of the super steels and high quality carbon steels. My collection consisted of mainly Buck, Case and Kershaw. Then, I decided to buy my first Spyderco: an FRN Dragonfly 2. I fell in love and now have the following Spydercos:

Ladybug
    FRN Dragonfly
    G10 Dragonfly
    Cat 440C
    Chaparral CTS-XHP
    Sage 1
    Gayle Bradley Air
    Delica 4
    Caly 3 in Superblue
    Mule Team 52100
    Byrd Robin 2
    Byrd Finch 2
    Byrd Wings

I really want something in S110V, but the Manix is a bit large for my tastes. One thing that I have noticed is Sal's Taichung maker is fantastic. The tolerances on my GB Air, Chaparral and Sage are incredible.

Here's to the beginning of my journey with my new favorite knife maker. I can't believe I've waited this long to try one!

Oh, and kudos to Sal and team for having the best and most consistent heat treat of any company I've seen.

Spyderco Forum Registered User SpyderNut's Avatar
    A warm welcome to you, morgaj1. One "taste" of Spyderco's unequaled quality will certainly keep you coming back for more. By the way, that's one heck of a nice Spydie collection for less than six months of collecting! Just think what your collection will look like in six years...
    Michael

Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.
    Mahatma Gandhi

Spyderco Forum Registered User Kylems11's Avatar
    Go buy a sage 3 and a native 5. Then you will really fall in love.
    My 's