Thread: Dying G10 - Experience, Warranty?

Spyderco Forum Registered User

Dying G10 - Experience, Warranty?

I want to dye the G10 on my Lava and Dragonfly black.

I have black powder RIT dye, but I've never used it before.

How does Spyderco feel about this, as far as voiding a warranty? I've noticed, after doing a search and reading through various threads by other people who have dyed their Spyderco knives, that there is a lack of responses by "Officials" at Spyderco regarding their stance on customers dying their knives different colors. I'm not sure if this means that they don't care either way, or refrain from commenting for other reasons.

My biggest question is whether or not I should disassemble the knives and only dunking the G10 in the dye, so that I don't have to worry about rust forming in some corner because of the salt in the dye. I'm guessing that if I dyed it assembled, then soaked it in clean water afterwards, there would be little chance of corrosion, but I'm very curious what others have learned from experience.

It would be great to hear, from a Spyderco rep', whether or not boiling an assembled knife in RIT dye voids warranty just as much as disassembly would, or if warranty would still be honored for an unrelated problem down the road with a knfie that had been dyed.

Other than RIT dye, are there other methods to dye light colored G10 black?

Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Dyeing* just in case you search for more info haha.

Spyderco Forum Registered User jabba359's Avatar
    I've only dyed one, but I disassembled it so warranty is void anyway. I figure I'll do some more voiding of the warranty now and actually make replacement scales. I'll probably get around to doing that in January, once I put in another order for materials.
    -Kyle

On the Fence: Tuff, Techno
    Latest arrivals: Des Horn, Dialex Junior, Super Blue Manbug

Spyderco Forum Registered User The Deacon's Avatar