Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is this a Fake Byrd Meadowlark?

  1. #1
    Pinetreebbs's Avatar
    Pinetreebbs is offline Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,245

    Angry Is this a Fake Byrd Meadowlark?

    Have you joined Knife Rights yet? Go to: www.KnifeRights.org
    Protecting your Right to own and carry the knives YOU choose.

  2. #2
    rycen's Avatar
    rycen is offline Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    U.S.A. Earth
    Posts
    1,747
    No.What makes you think they are fake?
    We would rather be the knife in your pocket, because is "works" better, than the knife in your showcase, because it "looks" better.

    sal

  3. #3
    Pinetreebbs's Avatar
    Pinetreebbs is offline Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,245
    They are labeled Navy, but the knife says Byrd. The same seller lists this Navy knife as well:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Navy-K-631-F...item416754024e
    Have you joined Knife Rights yet? Go to: www.KnifeRights.org
    Protecting your Right to own and carry the knives YOU choose.

  4. #4
    dgulbra's Avatar
    dgulbra is offline Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    287
    The first two are 1st gen byrds as far as I can tell.
    The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Upstate SC, USA
    Posts
    19,749
    The knives in the photos look like genuine Byrds. Whether they're the knives you'd receive is another matter and, even if they are, there's still the question of whether the vendor is a legit dealer, or if Spyderco is "out of the loop" on these sales. Personally, I would not trust any eBay seller located in China to be selling legitimate merchandise.
    Paul
    My Personal Website ---- Beginners Guide to Spyderco Collecting ---- Kiwimania ---- Spydiewiki
    Dead horses beaten, sacred cows tipped, chimeras hunted when time permits.
    WTC # 1458 - 1504 - 1508 - Never Forget, Never Forgive!

  6. #6
    Pinetreebbs's Avatar
    Pinetreebbs is offline Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,245
    Quote Originally Posted by The Deacon View Post
    The knives in the photos look like genuine Byrds. Whether they're the knives you'd receive is another matter and, even if they are, there's still the question of whether the vendor is a legit dealer, or if Spyderco is "out of the loop" on these sales. Personally, I would not trust any eBay seller located in China to be selling legitimate merchandise.
    Agree, I came across the listing while looking at UV lights the seller had listed. This seller will not be getting my business.

    I usually look at all the things a seller lists, it's amazing how many times they have more than one listing for the same thing, with bidders focused on one item while the other has no bids. Or combine shipping costs on multiple items, gotta' watch those dollars to put them in the Spyderco budget.
    Have you joined Knife Rights yet? Go to: www.KnifeRights.org
    Protecting your Right to own and carry the knives YOU choose.

  7. #7
    kgriggs8 is offline Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    202
    This confirms what I suspected about Navy being the Chinese maker of some of the Byrd line.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •