Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Spyderco Special Edition Tactical FAKE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    FEMA region I
    Posts
    212

    Spyderco Special Edition Tactical FAKE

    This looks like a new one, at least to me:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Spyderco-Spe...11%26rk%3D3%26

    The description is deliciously fail: "The spring assisted feature is amazing, and will impress your peers. You depress a tab, and the blade pops right out into place. It is very intimidating. This is a high quality model made in China."

    Very intimidating indeed...

    Reported twice: once as a fake, and again as a restricted product.

    Thanks for all of your help.
    "Next time there's a revolution - wake up earlier!"

    Vince Aut Morire



  2. #2
    Pinetreebbs's Avatar
    Pinetreebbs is online now Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,245
    I reported this and their other counterfeit Spyderco listings to eBay. I also asked a question and told him they are fake. I see the same seller has other brands for sale. It wouldn't surprise me to find out they are fake as well.
    Have you joined Knife Rights yet? Go to: www.KnifeRights.org
    Protecting your Right to own and carry the knives YOU choose.

  3. #3
    darkstar29's Avatar
    darkstar29 is offline Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    North central Ohio
    Posts
    341
    Reported as fake.
    I walk away slow tonight,
    and cut through the air
    with a curse, like a knife.

  4. #4
    OldSarSwmr's Avatar
    OldSarSwmr is online now Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    562
    Quote Originally Posted by Pinetreebbs View Post
    I reported this and their other counterfeit Spyderco listings to eBay. I also asked a question and told him they are fake. I see the same seller has other brands for sale. It wouldn't surprise me to find out they are fake as well.
    Looks like all he sells is fakes!

    Dan

  5. #5
    Pinetreebbs's Avatar
    Pinetreebbs is online now Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,245
    Quote Originally Posted by OldSarSwmr View Post
    Looks like all he sells is fakes!
    I wondered if the other might also be fakes. He didn't respond to my question, but did end the Spyderco auctions.
    Have you joined Knife Rights yet? Go to: www.KnifeRights.org
    Protecting your Right to own and carry the knives YOU choose.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    FEMA region I
    Posts
    212
    I followed up with the seller earlier this month before I went away on vacation: I never received a response, but it seems that he has pulled all of his items and has none currently for sale. It is a mystery how a scammer can have a 100% positive feedback score, but I guess that people just don't realize that they are purchasing low-quality fakes.
    This is why it is so important that we report all of these seemingly endless flood of fakes: it gives the average consumer a negative view of Spyderco, and I believe that it is up to we, the more knowledgeable fans and collectors, to protect the honor of our favorite knife company. We can do this proactively through fora like this, and on a case-by-case basis as these fakes are posted on the auction sites. First impressions are very powerful: imagine your first purchase of a "Spyderco" was a cheap knock-off that broke easily, rusted beyond belief, or worst of all cause injury to a loved one or yourself.
    I am happy to provide this service to anyone who asks, and I try my best to diligently report all fakes to the powers-that-be. I believe that by working together we can positively impact the flood of fakes on the popular auction sites, and by promoting Spyderco.com and this forum, new customers have a trusted resource for any questions they might have. (plus all the stimulating conservation with great fellow "knife people" that they can handle!)
    Thanks for reading this post, and thank you for all of your hard work.
    "Next time there's a revolution - wake up earlier!"

    Vince Aut Morire



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Upstate SC, USA
    Posts
    19,749
    Quote Originally Posted by Wildernest Survivor View Post
    It is a mystery how a scammer can have a 100% positive feedback score, but I guess that people just don't realize that they are purchasing low-quality fakes.
    He was the buyer for all but 37 of his feedback responses. Am sure that helped. As for the rest, you're probably right. There are many people who are not familiar with the brand, have no idea how a quality knife should perform, and tend to leave feedback shortly after receiving the knife and before the truth becomes apparent.
    Paul
    My Personal Website ---- Beginners Guide to Spyderco Collecting ---- Kiwimania ---- Spydiewiki
    Dead horses beaten, sacred cows tipped, chimeras hunted when time permits.
    WTC # 1458 - 1504 - 1508 - Never Forget, Never Forgive!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •