Thread: Is Stropping a Knife the best way to Resharpen it?

Spyderco Forum Registered User
    Texas; south end of Toledo Bend Reservoir

Is Stropping a Knife the best way to Resharpen it?

Stropping a Knife

At present I use the Edge Pro Apex to sharpen my knives. Most of the time on my new Spyderco knives that need touching up I start with the 320 grit stone and go up to the 6000 grit tape. This gives me a very sharp polished edge.

At present I am carrying my para 2, but have not used it enough for it to need resharpening. In a few days when my Gayle Bradley gets here, it will be my carry knife. From what I understand, and the way I use a knife now, it probably will go forever without needing to be resharpened, but when that time comes, I would like to know the best way to do it.

I am new at this, but from what I have read on this forum, the Internet, and other forums, I get the impression the best way to resharpen a knife, or to put a crazy sharp edge on a knife is by stropping as the final step.

I would like to get some input from you experienced knife people. Do you agree or not with the above statement that the best way to resharpen a knife, or to put a crazy sharp edge on a knife is by stropping as the final step?

I know there are several other methods to resharpen a knife, but I am leaning toward the stropping method for my pocket knives. If you like one of these other method better than stropping, please say so.

I do not wish to start a heated debate. I just need some guidance. Please be polite in your responses.

Bert

Spyderco Forum Registered User DCDesigns's Avatar
    Stropping is a good way to touch up a blade between sharpenings. If it goes too dull, stropping might not do a thing.

Your polishing tapesare basically stropping. When you need to touch up. Just run your 3000,6000 tapes and your good to go.

Texas; south end of Toledo Bend Reservoir
    Quote Originally Posted by .357 mag View Post