PDA

View Full Version : "Damascus" Spyderco and other Fakes



cesar
04-09-2011, 05:06 PM
Hi everybody!

I found these on DealExtreme:

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/steel-manual-release-folding-knife-with-clip-17-8cm-full-length-30874 - THIS ONE CLAIMS TO BE DAMASCUS STEEL. :confused:

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/stainless-steel-manual-release-folding-knife-with-clip-16cm-full-length-47575

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/stainless-steel-manual-release-folding-knife-with-clip-and-pouch-14-5cm-full-length-21377 - THIS ONE HAVE SOMETHING THAT LOOKS BALL BEARING LOCK SYSTEM. :eek:

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/stainless-steel-manual-release-folding-knife-21-1cm-full-length-32232

Just to ad more to the fail collection!

Thanks!

ChrisR
04-10-2011, 01:08 AM
Yeah, if you look at any Chinese site selling knives you should expect them to be fakes - all of the ones you showed are common fakes or very poor quality, being churned out and sold for a few bucks. :( If they come onto eBay then Spyderco can try to get them closed down but Chinese sites are pretty immune from any copyright laws - and they know it.

phillipsted
04-11-2011, 12:34 PM
Love that "Damascus" pattern that has been painted on the blade (but not the grind area, mind you). Looks more like what I see in my coffee cup in the morning than a real Damascus pattern...

I guess they should advertise these as "Damascus-style" or "Damascus-like" steel. In the interest of truth-in-labeling laws and all... :)

TedP

Jackson
04-12-2011, 12:47 AM
Love that "Damascus" pattern that has been painted on the blade (but not the grind area, mind you). Looks more like what I see in my coffee cup in the morning than a real Damascus pattern...

I guess they should advertise these as "Damascus-style" or "Damascus-like" steel. In the interest of truth-in-labeling laws and all... :)

TedP

Hah! I'm sure they are "all about" telling the truth.