View Full Version : Fake Poliwog on eBay? Can someone confirm?
Jester
08-28-2010, 03:56 PM
I feel pretty good about my judgement that this is a fake but I am not familiar enough with this model so could someone else confirm it?
eBay item no. 170533531194 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170533531194&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.com%3A80%2F%3F_from%3DR4 0%26_trksid%3Dp3907.m570.l1313%26_nkw%3D1705335311 94%26_sacat%3DSee-All-Categories%26_fvi%3D1&_rdc=1)
The Deacon
08-28-2010, 04:04 PM
Yep, definitely a fake. Lock not being a ball gives it away. Worst one yet, in the sense most others like it have NOT been marked Spyderco or packed in fake Spyderco boxes. Fact it's a US seller also makes it particularly upsetting.
Jester
08-28-2010, 04:30 PM
Anyone who saw, is this the same knife or seller talked about several weeks ago?
http://www.spyderco.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44481
Pinetreebbs
08-28-2010, 04:57 PM
I feel pretty good about my judgement that this is a fake but I am not familiar enough with this model so could someone else confirm it?
eBay item no. 170533531194
.
The box isn't the standard shape, the pouch is crude and un-Spyderco like, finally, I don't think there is a black bladed Poliwog.
I also agree with The Deacon, it is very disturbing that it is a US seller and worst of all, they have 4 of them for sale! :mad:
Woo, thats a big spyder. Isn't this the same one that Columbia(I think that was the name) tried to pass off? It was discussed a while ago I think
The Mentaculous
08-28-2010, 06:13 PM
Wow, that is a pathetic attempt at a knockoff...look at the pivot screw..and the handle is ridiculous, looks more like plastic than G-10. Also the weird attempt at jimping along the entire blade...very strange. Also it seems to have no place to mount a pocket clip
Plus he has the balls to put it for $85? Wow. I wouldn't think nearly as much of it if he put it up for $10-20 or something..but I guess that might tip off unsuspecting victims
Jester
08-28-2010, 08:03 PM
For the record, since everything will disappear once the posting is pulled.
Seller: tanya_kelley71292
Here are the pics.
Bluntrauma
08-29-2010, 04:17 AM
For the record, since everything will disappear once the posting is pulled.
Seller: tanya_kelley71292
Here are the pics.
That's a good idea. Thanks for posting that. I reported the item and emailed the seller. People can't be this dumb can they.
ChrisR
08-29-2010, 05:34 AM
I think the really telling thing in this case is that the seller isn't just selling 1 - they have 4 of these things so they must know where they got them from and new is new ... it's very likely that they imported them themselves. Obviously, they might have been duped but it's suspicious to me and the fact they are trying to sell them for $85 really makes me mad :mad:
The Deacon
08-29-2010, 08:40 AM
Reported the auction to eBay, PM'd Kristi to alert her to this thread.
Am sure the economy right now plays a role in this. More folks desperate enough for rent/food money to be willing to do dodgy things. Doesn't make it right, just more predictable.
Jester
08-29-2010, 03:27 PM
Another one just went up. Different seller.
eBay item no. 190437355712
ChrisR
08-29-2010, 03:36 PM
Just added a few more reports for those fakes and done a search for more - none found so far. Also bookmarked the 'report a counterfeit' page for later :rolleyes:
Bluntrauma
08-29-2010, 05:38 PM
So I got a response back from her.
Thank you for the info, I have talked with Spyderco company and verified that the knives are fake, I have ended the listing. In your opinion, do you think it would be legal to sell them on eBay as FAKE Spyderco knives? I just want to try and get my money back out of them. I bought a bunch of them at an auction and didn't want it to be a total loss. Thank you, Tanya
- tanya_kelley7129
Creepo
08-30-2010, 10:18 PM
So I got a response back from her.
Thank you for the info, I have talked with Spyderco company and verified that the knives are fake, I have ended the listing. In your opinion, do you think it would be legal to sell them on eBay as FAKE Spyderco knives? I just want to try and get my money back out of them. I bought a bunch of them at an auction and didn't want it to be a total loss. Thank you, Tanya
- tanya_kelley7129
Hmmmmmm... That kinda question does divide people up quite a bit. Generally I don't approve of manufacturing, selling & buying of fakes and knock-offs. Personally though in this case since she just wants to get rid of that stuff, it'd be OK if she made it clear with big bold letters that it's a fake.
Bluntrauma
08-31-2010, 02:44 AM
I told her if it were me I would throw em out to keep them from getting into the system. I also said if she felt she had to sell them I would list them as no name and not put Spyderco anywhere in the title so it would get a hit on a search, as well as specify "fake" in the body of the listing. Truly, I would personally take a hammer to them, throw them in the trash and make sure they were unusable by anyone. That's just me though.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.