PDA

View Full Version : Another ebay fake?



Wevil
06-02-2010, 08:54 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/SPYDERCO-KNIFE-LINER-LOCK-POCKET-CLIP-KNIFE-NIB-NR-/280516042039?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item41500f1d37

HellHound
06-03-2010, 12:31 AM
http://cgi.ebay.com/SPYDERCO-KNIFE-LINER-LOCK-POCKET-CLIP-KNIFE-NIB-NR-/280516042039?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item41500f1d37

Yes it is dude,yes it is.

billy blade
06-03-2010, 11:53 AM
This one keeps showing up like a bad penny:eek:. I reported it to ebay. I urge everyone to do the same please:mad:

Bluntrauma
06-03-2010, 04:35 PM
Wow, just reported this knife for the 3rd time. It seems pretty obvious the seller is up to no good.

Buckles
06-03-2010, 04:41 PM
i reported it the other day too. i just asked the seller a question about it too lol

Bluntrauma
06-03-2010, 04:46 PM
i reported it the other day too. i just asked the seller a question about it too lol

Can't wait for that answer. :D

Streamer
06-03-2010, 06:34 PM
What does Ebay ever do about it? Auctions are still active.

Buckles
06-03-2010, 07:06 PM
Can't wait for that answer. :D

I asked him why he was calling it a spyderco.

his answer :"Because it says spyderco on the handle, look at the pictures in the listing!!!"

billy blade
06-03-2010, 08:48 PM
I just sent this guy a message and ask him if it was an older model since I was not able to find it on the Spyderco web site. Also ask him where it was made.
I checked out his other listings he does have some good stuff and knows what it is, therefore I have to believe he know this one is a fake and also is fully aware this is not a spyderco.

Report it to ebay flood them with reports ask this guy every dumb ass question you can think of maybe he'll knock this off.

Bluntrauma
06-04-2010, 04:05 AM
i asked him why he was calling it a spyderco.

His answer :"because it says spyderco on the handle, look at the pictures in the listing!!!"

wow.

The Deacon
06-04-2010, 04:43 AM
What does Ebay ever do about it? Auctions are still active.Probably nothing, unless Spyderco reports it as an infringement of several of their trademarks. AFAIK, eBay only acts on intellectual property violations if they are reported by the holder.

Mind you, that didn't keep me from reporting it, but I had the mental picture of that infamous, and probably also fake, :o Peanuts cartoon with Charlie Brown saying "Doing a good job here is like peeing yourself in a dark suit. It gives you a warm feeling, but nobody notices."

billy blade
06-04-2010, 09:47 AM
I just sent this guy a message and ask him if it was an older model since I was not able to find it on the Spyderco web site. Also ask him where it was made.
I checked out his other listings he does have some good stuff and knows what it is, therefore I have to believe he know this one is a fake and also is fully aware this is not a spyderco.

Report it to ebay flood them with reports ask this guy every dumb ass question you can think of maybe he'll knock this off.

Here is what the dude had to say about his knife, I DONT KNOW A WHOLE LOT ABOUT SPYDERCO KNIVES BUT MY BUDDY TOLD ME THAT THIS KNIFE WAS MADE WHEN SPYDERCO FIRST GOT STARTED BEFORE THEY WHERE A BIG COMPANY

billy blade
06-04-2010, 10:05 AM
I decided to go straight to the seller on this one I sent him the following message. Maybe this will work:

Sir, I consulted with many experts on the Spyderco web forum. They have informed me that this knife is not a Spyderco. I regret to inform you of this but, they claim it is a knock off/fake that is using the name of a reputable company in order to sell an inferior product. I noticed you have many knives listed that are genuine. I would not want you to sell this one to someone and later they find out that it is not a real Spyderco. I thought you might want to know this in order to protect your feedback score.
Sincerely
Bill

Let's see if this works.

TazKristi
06-04-2010, 12:04 PM
Thank you all for your efforts... I contacted the seller too. His response might be different when he realizes it's Spyderco contacting him. ;)

We appreciate you!

Kristi

SmoothOne25
06-04-2010, 12:06 PM
haha the logic on ebay is if it has a whole, its a spydie!
kick there ass taz

TazKristi
06-04-2010, 12:28 PM
He has added a comment to the listing. He and I messaged back and forth and he took the time to call me. I believe he is trying to do the right thing. He did mention that he was very surprised by the number of people who contacted him to tell him it was not a real Spyderco.

Thank you!

Kristi

billy blade
06-04-2010, 01:31 PM
Thanks Kristi

I plan to stay on this misson of reporting fakes on ebay. I use ebay to purchase and sell quite a few knives. Some sellers of these knives are totally unaware of what they are selling and others are out right deseptive.

My biggest consern is the reputation of the company who's knives I am very passionate about being tainted.

As loyal users and collectors of Spyderco knives it is our duty to try everything we can to protect our beloved products name.

Say vigilant!
Bill

Bluntrauma
06-04-2010, 03:14 PM
Thank you all for your efforts... I contacted the seller too. His response might be different when he realizes it's Spyderco contacting him. ;)

We appreciate you!

Kristi

Talk about your "oh ****" moment. :) Nothing like Spyderco contacting this guy. Maybe he should join the forum if he wants to continue to sell what he thinks is Spyderco, and do the right thing. This is rich! :D

defenestrate
06-04-2010, 03:41 PM
Git'em, Kristi!

TazKristi
06-04-2010, 03:47 PM
Talk about your "oh ****" moment. :) Nothing like Spyderco contacting this guy. Maybe he should join the forum if he wants to continue to sell what he thinks is Spyderco, and do the right thing. This is rich! :D

I suggested that very thing to him. That was when he said he didn't think he would be trying to sell something "Spyderco" again anytime soon. The amount of time that's he's spent responding to questions and comments has apparently been a huge surprise and inconvenience.

He mentioned his favorite knife brand (who he personally carries - think old school) and also commented that he would never think to do what ya'll have done for us. I explained that we're very lucky and work very hard to get the loyalty that we have from our ELUs. ;)

Thank you all for always looking out for us! We truly do appreciate you!

Kristi

Bluntrauma
06-04-2010, 03:55 PM
I suggested that very thing to him. That was when he said he didn't think he would be trying to sell something "Spyderco" again anytime soon. The amount of time that's he's spent responding to questions and comments has apparently been a huge surprise and inconvenience.

He mentioned his favorite knife brand (who he personally carries - think old school) and also commented that he would never think to do what ya'll have done for us. I explained that we're very lucky and work very hard to get the loyalty that we have from our ELUs. ;)

Thank you all for always looking out for us! We truly do appreciate you!

Kristi

I'm sure he'll have night sweats everytime he hears the word Spyderco in the future.

I can't speak for everyone but anytime I see a listing that is a fake, I report it and email the seller. I hope he contacts the 2 people that have brought this "Spyderco" up to a bidding war of $1.29 haha.

In a world where huge corporations are swallowing up mom and pop, it does my heart proud to be a Spyderco fan. You and Sal are more than Spyderco to me. You are the human aspect that is woefully missing in today's businesses.