View Full Version : Driving phony Spydercos off of ebay
Sequimite
04-27-2010, 05:13 PM
I'm still pi$$ed that I was so stupid as to not recognize the counterfeit Volpe I bid on and "won". I'll probably get my money back . . .
Anyway I'm now determined to save other people who are as stupid as I am. Therefore, whenever I see a knife described as a Spyderco which is not, I'm reporting the item to ebay so that the auction gets pulled down. I hope many of you will join me, or if you're already doing it then I'm joining you. With the number of people here who cruise ebay, I think we can effectively shut them down.
I'm not sure what to do about ripoff designs that are not represented as Spydercos. For now I'm leaving those alone since it is a legal gray area.
ssmtbracer
04-27-2010, 05:15 PM
I love to report fakes.
Did you see this thing (http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Spyderco-Knife-/130386675530?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item1e5ba6c74a)? I don't know if it's some model of Byrd or just a fake.
yablanowitz
04-27-2010, 10:13 PM
Definitely a fake. Wait, is it still a fake if it isn't a Spyderco or Byrd design, but has a Byrd trademark comet hole and is listed as a Spyderco?
I report every one/thing that comes across my path--may not make a difference--but I suspect it does. The spyderco listings are pretty darn "clean" compared to many searches. Figure it might also help some poor buyer if, when investigating, ebay has reports. Wish I had a venue for reporting bad drivers,...
Definitely a fake. Wait, is it still a fake if it isn't a Spyderco or Byrd design, but has a Byrd trademark comet hole and is listed as a Spyderco?
It's a fake Byrd and a fake Spyderco. :D
jzmtl
04-28-2010, 06:35 PM
Does ebay actually pull fake reported by user, or only when requested by the real company?
SecSpyral
04-28-2010, 10:53 PM
Does ebay actually pull fake reported by user, or only when requested by the real company?
they pull them, sometimes too slowly though
JonBasha
04-29-2010, 10:22 AM
Back to your original story. I too have bought a volpe. How did you realize that it was a fake?
Sequimite
04-29-2010, 10:48 AM
Back to your original story. I too have bought a volpe. How did you realize that it was a fake?
The fake doesn't have screws fastening down the wood mini scales and the lanyard hole and screw positions at the end of the handle are reversed. The seller only showed the front; on the back the very different clip is a dead give away.
The Deacon
04-29-2010, 10:48 AM
Back to your original story. I too have bought a volpe. How did you realize that it was a fake?Lots of differences, if you know what to look for, don't assume all eBay seller's are honest, and compare the auction photos with the Spyderco catalog pictures. Among others, the fake's handle lacks the relief cuts for at the back end of the lockbar, the "bug" is engraved/painted rather than cut out, the clip is different, and the wood blobs are secured differently. On the blade, the grind is different and it lacks G&G markings on right side.
Sequimite
04-29-2010, 10:52 AM
Lots of differences, . . . G&G markings on right side.
Actually I received my fake and it has the G&G marking. I'll have to drag out my camera to shoot the two side by side.
The Deacon
04-29-2010, 11:46 AM
On the blade, the grind is different and it lacks G&G markings on right side.
Actually I received my fake and it has the G&G marking. I'll have to drag out my camera to shoot the two side by side.Looked at the photos you posted. Honestly don't see the G&G markings on the fake's blade. I certaninly believe you when you say they're there, hope you'll agree they're not anywhere near as easy to spot.
Sequimite
04-29-2010, 11:54 AM
Looked at the photos you posted. Honestly don't see the G&G markings on the fake's blade. I certaninly believe you when you say they're there, hope you'll agree they're not anywhere near as easy to spot.
It's smaller but identical, except for the fact that "G&G" is hollow lettering on the fake and filled with white on the real one. At the right angle (which my photo did not have) it stands out pretty well.
SteelDragon
05-06-2010, 11:18 PM
This one is probably a lot easier to spot then most of course, with the location and feedback and shipping charge but thought I would post the link.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Spyderco-Super-pretty-custom-knife-N690-/170482889197?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item27b19271ed
SteelDragon
05-06-2010, 11:29 PM
upon further research I see you guys have pointed this one out before, The other listing had a different seller but of course it is still the same person just changed his ebay name. Maybe the reports to ebay got him removed before so hopefully reports on his current listing will get him removed again.
here is the previous listing for anyone that didnt see it before.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Spyderco-Super-pretty-custom-knife-N690_W0QQitemZ220590398773QQcategoryZ0QQcmdZViewIt emQQ_trksidZp4012.m506QQ_trkparmsZalgo%3DNGRI%26it s%3DI%26itu%3DUA%26otn%3D20%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D91 54678926559659489
Funny thing about the volpe seller--also likely propping up bids to make look more legit--check out the bid history of the sole bidder on the current BS volpe:
http://offer.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewBidderProfile&mode=1&item=170482889197&aid=h***9&eu=Ylv9OtAyjYwDDpnc9Hk%2FNvNdUGy1WW0V&view=NONE&ssPageName=PageBidderProfileViewBids_None_ViewLink
tonydahose
05-08-2010, 03:02 PM
i just reported this one...not a copy but using the name
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160431624962
Bluntrauma
05-09-2010, 04:33 AM
Everytime I see a fake/copy I report it then I put it in my watch area to follow up and see if it gets pulled. This stuff burns me up.
vBulletin® v3.8.2, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.