PDA

View Full Version : Direct from Beijing...


tac
04-14-2010, 10:38 PM
Is this (http://cgi.ebay.com/Spyderco-Super-pretty-custom-knife-N690_W0QQitemZ220589810096QQcmdZViewItemQQptZColle ctible_Knives?hash=item335c2d61b0) a genuine Volpe? Looks a little different from the (production prototype) picture on the Spyderco website, but I've never seen one in person.

Sequimite
04-14-2010, 10:53 PM
Stay away. Similar description to one I "bought". Waiting for refund as seller was delisted by ebay. I took a shot thinking they would hold the money on a new seller - hopefully I was right about that and will get my refund.

ChrisR
04-15-2010, 02:21 AM
I've noticed on a lot of Chinese sites that openly sell fakes they almost never give the correct name or product code - just describing it as a folding knife, like in your add. The fact that the auction starts at 0.99 too makes me suspicious and the guy isn't doing himself any favours selling stuff like that with a 0 rating and an obviously junk-able username ;)

224477
04-15-2010, 03:48 AM
Its this (http://spyderco.com/forums/showthread.php?t=40564) one.

I made a separate thread about the fake volpe before.

Sequimite
04-15-2010, 06:59 PM
The Volpe linked in the first post is a fake. It fooled me because the wood is lighter than the other Volpe fakes I've seen and they don't show the back. However, with a second look I see that the wood is the wrong shape and doesn't have screws.

tac
04-15-2010, 08:07 PM
Thanks for the info guys. I suspected that wasn't for real.

Sithus1966
04-18-2010, 01:30 PM
If it's out of China, it's probably a fake. They sure do gouge for shipping.

2cha
04-18-2010, 04:18 PM
Look at the feedback, BOTH by same person, and that person is also a new member of ebay, front? I'd bet that knives already in U.S. I reported to ebay.