View Full Version : Gunting ?
gtrtech
01-14-2010, 10:05 PM
I could be wrong, but this one looks very odd to me.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Spyderco-C68-Bram-Frank-Gunting-Knife-Trainer-Blade-NR_W0QQitemZ250562660167QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Defa ultDomain_0?hash=item3a56b2c747
https://home.comcast.net/~jdsebusiness/eBay/192a.jpg
https://home.comcast.net/~jdsebusiness/eBay/192b.jpg
aj1985
01-14-2010, 11:04 PM
The only things I can think of is
- The clip is wrong
- Blue were trainers for Law Enforcement and shouldn't have a life blade
- No marking of Spyderco or Bram Frank Logo on the blades
Probably stolen imo, but hey I could be wrong. Stranger things have happened.
aj
dialex
01-15-2010, 03:19 AM
All the Gunting fakes I've seen so far have linerlocks. This isn't a proof, of course, that this one is legit though.
The Deacon
01-15-2010, 04:48 AM
That seller is either an alias, protege or competitor of Dr. FrankenSpyder. The knives he sells are (probably) assembled from genuine Spyderco parts. How those parts were obtained, who fitted them together, and how well, are the open questions. Blue should not have a pointy live blade, IIRC, those were not exactly "trainers" but instead were "non-lethal" compliance tools for LEOs. The other blade with may be the one which belongs to that type handle, but, given the source, whether or not it belongs to that specific handle or not is anybody's guess.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.