View Full Version : From the "what is this files?"
Bluntrauma
01-03-2010, 07:33 AM
Not saying that this is a fake or knock-off but what the heck is it?
http://cgi.ebay.com/2439-1-Spyderco-pocket-knife_W0QQitemZ270503530605QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_D efaultDomain_0?hash=item3efb44506d
Description say flat iron but I have never heard of it.
The Deacon
01-03-2010, 07:44 AM
It's a FlatIron Folder, made by Spyderco exclusively for Ironstone. Not sure whether or not Spyderco owned Ironstone at the time, know they did at one point. It's a pretty rare bird.
Bluntrauma
01-03-2010, 08:00 AM
It's a FlatIron Folder, made by Spyderco exclusively for Ironstone. Not sure whether or not Spyderco owned Ironstone at the time, know they did at one point. It's a pretty rare bird.
Wow thanks Deacon. That's a new one to me.
The Deacon
01-03-2010, 08:58 AM
Wow thanks Deacon. That's a new one to me.YVW, If you go to Ted's page of catalog downloads (http://www.spydie.nl/catalogs/) and grab the 1998 Ironstone catalog (panning for knives on the cover) it's in there, along with a bunch of other Ironstone exclusives.
Bluntrauma
01-03-2010, 09:51 AM
Thank Paul I saw it. Pretty cool link thanks.
Old remark on the topic from Sal on BFC
Hi Royo. We only made about 500 pieces. They were originally made as an exclusive for a catalog, but the catalog couldn't take them, so Ironstone sold them through their catalog and stores. Ironstone no longer exists.
Bluntrauma
01-16-2010, 06:36 AM
Well here's a new one for me...
http://cgi.ebay.com/SPYDERCO-STAINLESS-STEEL-FIXED-BLADE-KNIFE-W-SHEATH_W0QQitemZ380197991477QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_ DefaultDomain_2?hash=item588590f435
The Deacon
01-16-2010, 06:42 AM
Seller is either ignorant, and assuming spider on sheath = Spyderco, or a bit smarter and figuring his POS knife will get more hits if Spyderco is in the auction title.
type00rev
01-16-2010, 08:17 PM
Seller is either ignorant, and assuming spider on sheath = Spyderco, or a bit smarter and figuring his POS knife will get more hits if Spyderco is in the auction title.
I think he's plain ol' ignorant!! I have a notion to offer him 15 cents for it!!
Bluntrauma
02-15-2010, 05:54 AM
So, who wants a good deal on a Spyderco? Not a fake. :eek::eek::D
http://cgi.ebay.com/SPYDERCO-COLLECTIBLE-CENTOFANTE-3-NIB_W0QQitemZ160404489770QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Def aultDomain_0?hash=item2558da462a
Bluntrauma
03-14-2010, 05:29 AM
Woodcraft knife?
http://cgi.ebay.com/SPYDERCO-NEW-MODEL-WOODCRAFT-FB27P-SR-002-NIB_W0QQitemZ260567110529QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Def aultDomain_0?hash=item3cab029381
The Deacon
03-14-2010, 07:22 AM
Woodcraft knife?
http://cgi.ebay.com/SPYDERCO-NEW-MODEL-WOODCRAFT-FB27P-SR-002-NIB_W0QQitemZ260567110529QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Def aultDomain_0?hash=item3cab029381Yep, the seller is a Collectors Club member, received the Woodcraft exclusive, and is selling it. Aside from the him getting a bit mixed up an listed the steel from the latest Mule, the listing, and the knife are totally legit. Steel is actually S30V, which can be seen if you look at the photos in the listing. Knife is similar to the Mules but also very different and, as I mentioned, was made as an exclusive for Woodcraft (http://www.woodcraft.com/Family/2080369/Spyderco-Mule-Knife.aspx), a chain of woodworking supply stores. What makes this a bit amusing is that Woodcraft's first ads for the knife also listing the steel incorrectly, in that case as S90V.
Bluntrauma
03-14-2010, 07:34 AM
Thanks for the info. Nice looking blade.
vBulletin® v3.8.2, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.