PDA

View Full Version : Fake ebay CHOKWE?



Cave Dave
08-29-2009, 04:48 AM
I find it odd they have an artist rendering of a hollow ground Chokwe like knife with 3 handle holes.

http://tinyurl.com/mb63fz

or directly to an auction:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Spyderco-C132GP-Chokwe-Ethnic-Design-S30V-Blade_W0QQitemZ250488837395QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_D efaultDomain_0?hash=item3a524c5513&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

The Deacon
08-29-2009, 05:11 AM
Could be. But probably just a case of them being to lazy to take a picture, or being hooked up with a drop shipper and not actually having the knife to photograph, and not knowledgeable enough about the product to realize they'd Googled up and swiped the photoshop rendering someone did, and posted on this forum, of what a folding Chokwie might look like way back before the actual Spyderco version existed rather than the actual knife.

Th232
08-29-2009, 06:03 AM
Hey, those're my renderings!!!

Funny, I'd forgotten about those. And I must say, they look infinitely worse than the final design.

Wonder if someone should ask if it's the version in the top or the bottom.

Edit: For anyone who's interested, here's the original thread:
http://spyderco.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26950&highlight=chokwe

clovisc
08-29-2009, 12:21 PM
saw that too. my guess was that it was by someone who is selling the actual knife, but is too lazy to take pictures...

jonUSA,EARTH
08-29-2009, 12:30 PM
For that price i would just buy from a reputable on-line knife store that can be trusted.
Just ordered mine from Knife Center and it is arriving Tuesday:D




Wish List:
Stretch 2 ZDP 189
Forums Native
Police 3
Barong
Mini Goddard(sprint Run):D

araneae
08-29-2009, 01:47 PM
Hey, those're my renderings!!!

Funny, I'd forgotten about those. And I must say, they look infinitely worse than the final design.

Wonder if someone should ask if it's the version in the top or the bottom.

Edit: For anyone who's interested, here's the original thread:
http://spyderco.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26950&highlight=chokwe

I'd report the lister for using your image.

RJNC
09-01-2009, 01:49 PM
They have excellent feedback, so probably the real deal.