PDA

View Full Version : Lil' Temp Knockoff


The CoPilot
06-07-2009, 02:39 PM
Ran across this for sale on Craigslist. Could be by the same folks who are making a Rookie-clone.

http://newyork.craigslist.org/mnh/spo/1209237109.html

David Lowry
06-07-2009, 03:08 PM
Wow. That's a real shame because that knock off looks pretty spot on.

I hate that kind of stuff.

Jay_Ev
06-07-2009, 03:29 PM
In all fairness, the guy isn't trying to pass it off as a genuine, authentic Spyderco. On a side note, I do kinda like the Lil Temp in black pants :)

spyderHS08
06-07-2009, 06:30 PM
It does suck that people do this but at least the guy is fair, stating its not a real spyderco. And ill agree it would be cool if there was a production lil temp in black..

Slick
06-08-2009, 09:07 PM
Wow. That's a real shame because that knock off looks pretty spot on.

I hate that kind of stuff.

My god that looks close. How is it possible to recreate a Lil'Temp clone at that price? Even offshored it should cost more than that. I wonder what the country of origin is.

Maybe it is being produced with slave labor within a foreign prison system. I will try and buy my Spyderco's with less guilt as to their MSRP. Free trade and intellectual property/patents/trademarks etc...

dialex
06-14-2009, 04:33 AM
OMG, if it wasn't for the "Navy" on the blade, I might easily believe it's a black G-10 special run I wasn't aware of... :mad: I even almost forgot the original has nested liners... :rolleyes:

Rob
06-17-2009, 02:08 AM
Seems they are sold on eBay too at the moment. I found them while looking for something else: Fake Lil' Temp (http://cgi.ebay.at/TACTICAL-POCKET-FOLDING-LOCK-BLADE-flat-ground-knives_W0QQitemZ180316948096QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_ DefaultDomain_0?hash=item29fbba4680&_trksid=p4634.c0.m14.l1262&_trkparms=|301%3A0|293%3A1|294%3A30) and Fake Rookie (http://cgi.ebay.at/NEW-STAINLESS-POCKET-FOLDING-LOCK-BLADE-NAVY-knives-631_W0QQitemZ170302662659QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Def aultDomain_0?hash=item27a6d46803&_trksid=p4634.c0.m14.l1262&_trkparms=|301%3A1|293%3A2|294%3A30) It also seems that Spyderco is not the only victim. When you look at the guy's other auctions: Fake Emerson (http://cgi.ebay.at/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170343194885), Fake BM (http://cgi.ebay.at/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180367554586) and judging from the price a Fake Blade Tech (http://cgi.ebay.at/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180367958329) is also sold.

At least none of them states that it really is a Spyderco, Emerson, etc. but ripping off the designs 1:1 is IMO blatant enough. :mad:

Cheers, Rob

amen74
06-18-2009, 05:59 PM
This one is really pushing the envelope for real douchebaggery.
Where is that "thumbs down" smilie?;)

Bluntrauma
07-05-2009, 08:17 AM
Looks like the same one as this one from the description. Close clone my a#%.

http://dallas.craigslist.org/dal/spo/1219071975.html