View Full Version : Knock Offs
gtrtech
05-30-2009, 11:43 PM
I saw a karambit on ebay not advertised as a Spyderco, but using the catalog number so I googled the number and this web site came up with quite a few knock offs and some that are not, but using Spyderco name and logos.
In the 70's when Fender and Gibson had problems with Ibanez and Tokai, they sued them and had the products destroyed by customs.
I don't know if this would work now, maybe the websites could be shut down or at least the products removed.
http://kh1231.com/pic/0951711033.jpg
http://kh1231.com/pic/09517104516.jpg
http://kh1231.com/pic/09517102042.jpg
http://kh1231.com/pic/0951710624.jpg
http://kh1231.com/pic/09516174615.jpg
http://kh1231.com/pic/0942395348.jpg
http://kh1231.com/pic/0932183427.jpg
http://kh1231.com/pic/0951785751.jpg
http://kh1231.com/pic/09516173450.jpg
http://kh1231.com/pic/0951792032.jpg
Sequimite
05-30-2009, 11:53 PM
I had a friend who was very proud of his Ibanez Les Paul copy. They never put a phony Gibson logo on them but the name "Ibanez" was in a font similar to Gibson's. I love my Ibanez Roadstar II, one of the last made in Japan.
Wow some of those are hard to tell they are fakes.:eek:If I saw that Gunting at a gun show,I don't know if I could tell the difference.:(
gtrtech
05-31-2009, 02:54 AM
Oh I like Ibanez very much especially during that period, and neither company put Gibson or Fender's name on their products, it was that they were coping trademarked features.
TazKristi
05-31-2009, 08:37 AM
gtrtech,
Thank you for the heads-up. I found the link and I've passed it on. As Sal says, tis a PITA.
Kristi
CombatGrappler
05-31-2009, 12:08 PM
I would buy a Damascus bladed Native if it was actually made by Spyderco.
LorenzoL
05-31-2009, 01:04 PM
Unbelievable, soon it will be too risky to buy a Spyderco on eBay, especially with the standard small pictures. You think you are getting a UKPK and you get ... this!
Jay_Ev
05-31-2009, 01:06 PM
Wow some of those are hard to tell they are fakes.:eek:If I saw that Gunting at a gun show,I don't know if I could tell the difference.:(
LOL, that Gunting is as fake as the day is long. One way to tell is the Gunting (the real, authentic Spyderco version) has a compression lock and the one that is depicted above looks to have a liner lock.
Jay_Ev
05-31-2009, 01:17 PM
:mad:
Those knives pictured above deserve a one-way trip to the Spyderco "Bender Buster" (mentioned in another thread) :D
spyderHS08
05-31-2009, 01:38 PM
wow that ukpk looks so real!
That would have me fooled any day of the week!:eek:
aebfroman
05-31-2009, 02:09 PM
What gives the UKPK away?
http://kh1231.com/pic/0951710624.jpg
Jay_Ev
05-31-2009, 02:23 PM
What gives the UKPK away?
Umm, no jimping on the finger choil? :confused:(just guessing because I don't own a UKPK)
aebfroman
05-31-2009, 02:35 PM
There shouldn't be any, thats the caly 3.
Kinda have me worried because mine looks just like it.
The Deacon
05-31-2009, 02:41 PM
What gives the UKPK away?Umm, no jimping on the finger choil? :confused:(just guessing because I don't own a UKPK)No choil jimping on the real one either. Only obvious difference is that there are no channels in G-10 on left scale for clip mounting, while the real one is ambi TU. Aside from that, it's impossible to tell, at least from a picture, that it's a fake.
Read today that the US Military is starting to use hackers for cyberwarfare. Perhaps "for practice' they could plant a ton of "Free Tibet" literature on this guy's computer and "accidentally" send a few thousand emails on that subject from it. With any luck he'd become an organ donor. ;)
What gives the UKPK away?
http://kh1231.com/pic/0951710624.jpg
The clip is wrong, UKPK has a tempered clip that is not silver.
The Deacon
05-31-2009, 02:52 PM
The clip is wrong, UKPK has a tempered clip that is not silver.True, but not always easy to tell from a photo. I'll guarantee the one in the shot below is real. It's CC#'d and came from a 100% honorable Spyderco dealer. Lighting just makes it look silver...
http://www.paulberetta.com/images/knives/uk_dk_right.jpg
Jay_Ev
05-31-2009, 02:58 PM
The clip is wrong, UKPK has a tempered clip that is not silver.
Good eye! I think I actually prefer the tempered clip, the shiny silver one doesn't do it for me, looks like a grocery store shopping cart (no offense to those that prefer it).
On a side note, I love it how the people here can detect even the slightest difference, no matter how minute. It shows how much we love our Spydies and pay attention to every detail. :cool:
aebfroman
05-31-2009, 03:04 PM
I got ripped then, yay. Got it for $50 off ebay, guess I should have looked a little closer.
http://www.spyderco.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38345
/FACEPALM
I got ripped then, yay. Got it for $50 off ebay, guess I should have looked a little closer.
http://www.spyderco.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38345
/FACEPALM
Who was the seller? So we know not to buy from them.
aebfroman
05-31-2009, 03:29 PM
gunrunr1976 He had 100% feedback but I guess that doesn't mean everything.
I am now seeing where the blade is contacting the back plate if I shut it with my finger rather than the hole. There were a few things about it that struck me as odd when I got it but I just looked past them as a fluke but now the overall construction seems to fit more. I thought it as dulling fast too but I chalked it up to my using it a lot but now that it isn't even s30v that fits as well.
Ironic that my attempt to not draw attention to the auction before it was over was the very thing that led me to getting a rip off.
>: | pissed
bohica1998
05-31-2009, 04:01 PM
I would buy a Damascus bladed Native if it was actually made by Spyderco.
I would too! (Well, if I could afford it)
Actually, the blade steel specified on that one is listed as "440 vein", whatever that is.
Jay_Ev
05-31-2009, 04:32 PM
I would too! (Well, if I could afford it)
Actually, the blade steel specified on that one is listed as "440 vein", whatever that is.
yeah, it also said "Surface: vein" whatever that means:rolleyes:
Make sure to avoid the fake Gunting in this eBay auction (http://cgi.ebay.com/3-Knife-Grab-Bag-SPYDERCO-MTECH-Folders-Bonus-Display_W0QQitemZ300319128522QQ).
genius5th
05-31-2009, 10:31 PM
if its a fake I think you can get the listing removed
dialex
06-01-2009, 12:51 AM
Hoover Damn! ;) That UKPK may have fooled me too... :(
At least I can buy a Microtech Troodon for 20$... :rolleyes:
aebfroman
06-03-2009, 03:48 PM
MSG'd the guy I got the fake UKPK from and he's going to let me return and refund. He was really quick to be friendly and help me out on it. I was very happy/surprised. Now.. what am I going to get with that money?
Whieee
06-12-2009, 03:18 AM
First make sure you actually get the refund. From where I'm sitting, there are 3 likely scenarios:
1. You return the knife, seller does not refund --> You're screwed
2. You keep the knife, but give the seller a fair load of negative feedback, and inform the people at eBay that this person is selling fake items.
3. You return the knife, get your refund, and live happily ever after while the seller takes this minor loss and tries again on somebody else.
Pneumothorax
06-12-2009, 02:22 PM
[QUOTE=The Deacon;502422] Only obvious difference is that there are no channels in G-10 on left scale for clip mounting, while the real one is ambi TU. Aside from that, it's impossible to tell, at least from a picture, that it's a fake.QUOTE]
The only other thing I might be seeing is the clip screwhead might be slightly larger in diameter than the rest of the screws which makes the wire appear to not run parallel - as I sit here and examine my UKPK.
Outside of that, it is a phenomenal looking copy.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.