Caly 3.5

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Yotehntr

Caly 3.5

Post by Yotehntr »

I bought a Caly 3 a couple months back I'm new to Spyderco knives and didn't know there was a 3.5. The 3 was my favorite, I've gotten a little out of control and bought a Native (CPM S35VN) 1st, then a Manix 2 (CPM 110v), PM, an Endura (ZDP), Dragonfly (ZDP) for the wife... well I decided to get the Caly 3.5 (gave the 3 to my dad) oh and I've ordered the '15 forum native. (so you know I'm not slamming Spyderco) I wanted the lamination on the 3.5 to be as even as possible, so when I went to "Smokey Mtn knive works" I payed particular attention... didn't notice the carbon fiber had deep scratchs in it until I got home... :mad: so the next weekend (last weekend) I made the 3 hr trek back to knoxville to get it replaced. My luck, they were out so I got my money back. Well I decided to buy another from Amazon, showed up today with the mail... it actually rattles... the knife starts hitting the side of the liner about 1 1/2" back. I've done the return/replace with Amazon, but what the heck? My other spyderco's are great, the Caly 3 was amazing but the 3.5's ... well I'm not having very good luck here. Come on quality guys check these things out before you ship 'em!

SuckSqueezeBangBlow

Re: Caly 3.5

Post by SuckSqueezeBangBlow »

Possibly someone else bought the amazon knife already and perhaps the blade had been slightly off centre and then 'rectified', and stuffed right up, and then sent back to amazon? They wouldn't have checked it out on return. I can't imagine Spyderco QC would have let a rattling knife leave the factory?
My Caly 3.5 CF is perfect except a small imperfection on the CF, which I found acceptable.
sal

Post by sal »

Hi Yotehnter,

Welcome to our forum.

That's doesn't look right. Dont think it would leave here like that. Can you get it to us?

sal
Tdog

Post by Tdog »