Suspected P4 fake?

A place to list and reference all Spyderco counterfeits, clones, and replicas that are found. Anything that isn't a legitimate Spyderco fits in this area.
Doc1911

Suspected P4 fake?

Post by Doc1911 »

This knife is listed as a P4 from a TSA confiscation sale. I'm no Spyderco expert, but the blade geometry looks wrong, and I was under the impression that the G10 P4's don't have a swedged blade? Fake?

TazKristi

Re: Suspected P4 fake?

Post by TazKristi »

Hi, Doc1911:
Welcome to our forum! Unfortunately, that knife is either a counterfeit or what we call a frankenspyder (someone combined two different models).

We hope you enjoy your time with us.

Kristi
There is nothing more important than this one day.
500Nitro

Post by 500Nitro »

For comparison.

The bottom one is definitely a Fake "Police".
Attachments
FakePolice2.jpg
3 x Endura 1 SE, 1 x Endura ? CE and a Black Pacific Salt. Want Aqua Salt, Fish Hunter and a Pacific Salt Yellow.
ThePeacent

Post by ThePeacent »

just for the record, in most instances when there's a ruler behind the knife in question be it inches or centimeters there's something fishy with it, either it's a Chinese based seller, a dubious looking Spyderco, an extremely low price or lack of feedback from the seller :confused:

All of them are oftentimes strong signs of a fake, franken or scam Spyder deal in sight :o
500Nitro

Post by 500Nitro »

ThePeacent wrote:
Tue Jun 26, 2018 7:26 am
just for the record, in most instances when there's a ruler behind the knife in question be it inches or centimeters there's something fishy with it, either it's a Chinese based seller, a dubious looking Spyderco, an extremely low price or lack of feedback from the seller :confused:

All of them are oftentimes strong signs of a fake, franken or scam Spyder deal in sight :o
You know what, that is so right.

I just went and checked the listing where that fake "Police" came from and sure enough,
it has a ruler in it.