A sincere thank you, to all of you.

If your topic has nothing to do with Spyderco, you can post it here.
vivi

A sincere thank you, to all of you.

Post by vivi »

I've been collecting knives since I was 4 years old.

I don't know what got me started.

I do remember my first knife. A victorinox classic.

The first thing I remember using it for was testing the edge with my thumb and promptly slicing it open and freaking out my mom.

I've been collecting different types of edged tools ever since.

I've gone through many phases. "Survival" multitools loaded with gimmicks like fish hooks and magnifying lenses to start fires, BudK specials, custom hand forged fixed blades, $300 choppers and everything in between.

I have knives my father gave me. I have knives my grandfather used to use. I have knives from my childhood, and a new knife in the mail as I type. I have so many memories tied up in my collection, memories that make me value my collection more than anyone else ever could.

You guys make me feel normal.

There's no where else in the world I'm as comfortable discussing what today is considered a weird hobby as I am in this forum.

Thank you. Every one of you.
:unicorn
SpyderEdgeForever

Re: A sincere thank you, to all of you.

Post by SpyderEdgeForever »

I agree and second that! And thank you for this post, Vivi.
awa54

Post by awa54 »

lol!

We're definitely bumped on the head here, but you've got to have a hobby... and this one has the benefit of providing us addicts with a supply of very useful tools as well as an outlet for our acquisitive or OCD natures.

I for one am glad you're here, you always provide excellent posts and great company!

BTW, my first was a crummy little Imperial HC 2 blade jack, bought from the local Ben Franklin for something like $2.79 (no parental permission required!) when I was a Grade Schooler.
-David

still more knives than sharpening stones...
Bloke

Post by Bloke »

Vivi, you’re a bloody character no doubt. Ah, hahaha!